Note: Please use this at your own risk and backup critical work before proceeding with this process to be safe. The commands are specific for a reason so please contact support if you want to modify the process in any way.
We generally recommend users get into the habit of frequently syncing their workspaces back to Domino's file system, but occasionally a user will forget. If the user is working in a project with multiple contributors, they may have racked up a ton of merge conflicts when they finally decide to sync. Instead of manually choosing whether to "overwrite" or "save both" versions of each merge conflict, we could create a new directory and move all of our files into the new directory. This will remove conflicts because files in the new directory are considered distinct from what's already in your Domino project. Once we complete the merge, we can restore the project by moving everything out of the new directory and back into /mnt. Any subfolder structure will be preserved. In addition, Domino's version control will take over when we piece the file structure back together, so if there are duplicates of any files the system will save your workspace files as the primary file. Backup files will show up as <original file title>-<date of change>-theirs.txt.
Please run the following commands in a workspace terminal to move everything from the /mnt directory into a new directory to eliminate any conflicts
mv /mnt/* temporaryfile-<date>/
Next, complete the normal sync to your project. Please check your Domino project UI to make sure the files were successfully synced back to Domino's file system.
Finally, run the following commands in a. workspace terminal to restore the original file structure (and create duplicate files when merge conflicts are present):
mv temporaryfile-<date>/* /mnt/
rm -rf temporaryfile-<date>
If we are confident that we do not need any duplicate files created by the system when there were merge conflicts we can run the following snippet in the terminal:
Please note this will permanently delete all files with "theirs" in the file name so it's extremely important to double check that you do not need these files. The command will need to be modified if duplicates exist in subdirectories. Also, note that if you occasionally use "theirs" in the titles of your files you may not want to take this route.